Classical Physics: Is Research Still Ongoing?

In summary, many equations that can be built don't have an analytical solution. These can be built completely from classical mechanics, but only numerical solutions exist. This means that there may be some problems which do not have a solution in a closed form, but this most certainly does not mean that we do not understand the underlying laws governing these phenomena.
MHD93
I'm a secondary school student as yet, wondering and want to know whether scientists still do researches on Classical Physics, or they have just known everything that they wanted to know about the Newtonian Physics

In other words, are there still problems in Classical Physics the solutions of which are still unknown?

Thanks for your interaction

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe classical chaos is still the frontier.

Mohammad_93 said:
I'm a secondary school student as yet, wondering and want to know whether scientists still do researches on Classical Physics, or they have just known everything that they wanted to know about the Newtonian Physics

In other words, are there still problems in Classical Physics the solutions of which are still unknown?

Thanks for your interaction

There are lots of unanswered questions in classical mechanics, for example on how, and why, streamlines separates from a curved wall, questions concerning turbulence and much else besides.

Those two examples are from fluid mechanics, in solid mechanics, heat transport in aggregate compounds is, I believe, still rather intractable.

So, yes, there is a LOT of research going on in classical mechanics, and always will, since classical mechanics is, and forever will remain, the optimal approximation of physics in the "human-scale" world.

arildno said:
... in solid mechanics, heat transport in aggregate compounds is, I believe, still rather intractable...

How is this a subject of interest in Classical Mechanics ?

Dickfore said: