Comparing acidity of 2 substituted benzoic acids

• Thread starter Yashasvi Grover
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Acids
In summary, the acidity of 2-aminobenzoic acid is greater than that of benzoic acid and 2-hydroxybenzoic acid, likely due to intramolecular hydrogen bonding.)
Yashasvi Grover
Ok so i am a beginner in organic chemistry and i came across comparing acidity.
Now according to various books i referred,anthranilic acid/ortho-amino benzoic acid is less acidic than benzoic acid.There was not sufficient explanation and therefore,my doubt.
According to my book,in o-hydroxy benzoic acid,the conjugate base is stabilized by hydrogen bonding between OH and COO negative ion,thus making the compound more acidic.
When i apply the same logic to this argument,apparently it fails.I want to know why.
Note-I am aware about nh2 being an exception to the ortho effect due to its small size.But Then by same logic,shouldnt OH be an exception too

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Note that the amine is a much better base than phenolic OH. Hence it may stabilize the acid function.

DrDu said:
Note that the amine is a much better base than phenolic OH. Hence it may stabilize the acid function.
Thank for replying but can you please elaborate a little bit more.

Yashasvi Grover said:
Thank for replying but can you please elaborate a little bit more.

I think he's talking about zwitter ion.

... Or at least an intramolecular hydrogen bridge.

DrDu said:
... Or at least an intramolecular hydrogen bridge.
EDIT: I now understand why you were talking about this. The title of this thread is quite misleading. The OP actually asks in the OP the difference in the chemistry behind why the acidity change between anthranilic acid and benzoic acid is different from acidity change between salicylic acid and benzoic acid.