Complex analysis - Louvilles Theorem (I think)

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem in complex analysis involving the application of Liouville's theorem. The problem requires showing that if an entire function is bounded by a constant times the modulus of the complex variable, then it must be of the form wz for some complex constant w. The conversation also mentions the difficulty of remembering theorems and propositions in exams and suggests using an auxiliary function to solve the problem.
jrp131191
Hi I am doing a past exam for my complex analysis course and I should just mention right now that while it's a mix of pure/applied math I have never done a pure math unit before and i really really really suck at doing proofs and such..

Given c>0 and f(z) is entire such that |f(z)| ≤ c|z| show that :

f(z)=wz for some complex constant w.

I just have no idea how to tackle problems like this whatsoever and have to turn to google and notes which I obviously won't be able to do in the exam. Also I have trouble remembering all these theorems, corollaries, propositions..

My attempt at a solution was to state Louvilles theorem which is that if:

|f(z)|≤M and f(z) is entire then f(z)=w.. I don't really know where to go from here..

Any tips for tackling problems like this would be really appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
I think you are in the good path. Just apply Liouville's theorem to the auxiliary function $$g(z)=\frac{f(z)}{z}\text,$$ which is entire because ##f(z)=0## and we can continue ##g## to the origin as $$g(0)=\lim_{z\to 0}\frac{f(z)}{z}\text.$$

Alberto7 said:
I think you are in the good path. Just apply Liouville's theorem to the auxiliary function $$g(z)=\frac{f(z)}{z}\text,$$ which is entire because ##f(z)=0## and we can continue ##g## to the origin as $$g(0)=\lim_{z\to 0}\frac{f(z)}{z}\text.$$

Alberto7: what do you mean f(z)=0? Maybe you mean to say that, _if_ f(z)=0 , then