Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Confusing Notations

1. Mar 14, 2005 #1
    Does anyone else have trouble with confusing and inconsistent standards of notation in mathematics?

I am an economics undergrad, and I can't help but think that math would be 1000 times easier if there was just better notation for it. Does anyone know of any radical attempts to create new standards? Or, does anyone know of any learning materials than can help students such as myself "get over" this kind of problem?

To illustrate, a fundamental example is functional notation.

[tex]
    f(x) = 5x
    [/tex]
    does not reduce to
    [tex]
    f = 5
    [/tex]

It's a mental obstacle for me to think "oh yeah, that 'f' is not a variable." And I have to continuously think it, because my mind is automatically trying to reduce the equation. It drives me nuts. I hope this rudimentary example doesn't make it seem like I'm whining.

Anyways, thank you for your help! And I look forward to many stimulating discussions on physics (I'm trying to learn the math from Penrose's Road to Reality)

Last edited: Mar 14, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 14, 2005 #2

cepheid

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Unfortunately, the function notation is so standard, that you'd be hard pressed to find any math student (myself included) who thinks there's anything the matter with it. I was introduced to this notation high school and got used to it pretty fast (after working with it for a few months). Nobody ever thinks "multiplication" when they see f(something), and my teacher took pains to make the distinction when he first introduced it. To help you out...when you multiply two variables in algebra...you just stick them next to each other: e.g. xy

So why the needless parentheses with f(x)? because f is NOT a variable, and this is not multiplication.