Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Creating an RF Signal using analog methods

1. Jan 26, 2014 #1
    How is this done. Been reading about sputtering and DC sputtering is extremely simple. However, i'm not very experienced with RF circuitry so understanding exactly how to design that circuit confuses me a bit. Been reading about RF circuits but to generate an RF signal every method I find uses DAC converters and is more suited for music then high voltage applications like this. I understand how the impedance matching unit works fairly well and they use variable vacuum capacitors to manage the high voltage.

Given that the impedance matching unit is done with a simple L matching ciruit using analog components I imagine the power supply has to do with analog components also. My google fu isn't finding much. I know radio predates the digital transistor so exactly how using analog components do you create a radio signal and tune the frequency?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 26, 2014 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Surely you've looked for old-style radio transmitter circuits online?

4. Jan 27, 2014 #3
    Yeah, I understand I need to amplify it and increase the frequency of the input signal. Looking into it I'm thinking one of the things confusing me is I saw a mosfet / transistor symbol in the circuit and it seems to correspond to a vacuum tube. Which I'm just realizing is the analog equivalent to the digital transistor. So that solves a bit of it. Now just need to figure out how to tune it and see if that is enough to get to 13.56 MHZ in one step. Though I might need a toroidal transformer as well to reach the desired voltage, but I have no idea how those are tuned either. Just that they are used for RF transformers.