Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

DC Electric Motor Tourque/Power Usage

1. Jul 14, 2011 #1
    DC Electric Motor Torque/Power Usage

Hello Everybody,

I am mid way through doing an electronic engineering degree, I fancied as a summer project to build 6 wheel search and rescue robot. Idea being to use wheel chair motors to get the thing going. The problem is I am not an mechanical engineer, so am rusty with power and torque, coef of static friction etc. From what I remember from a-level physics I made the quick calculations shown in the image below:

Originally I tried do to this in metric...however after looking at a couple of sites it seems to only work in imperial and I was getting over 2000HP!

....now I think a 50HP car can manage a motorway, so I was expecting a low figure. This seems quite high? Can someone give me their take on this cheers!

[PLAIN]http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/321/robotpng.jpg [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 14, 2011 #2
    All the power is going to do is determine the acceleration. You need to look at the zero speed torque of the motor to determine if it will overcome the static friction, and then provided there is enough power, the motor and/or any gearing you use will determine the top speed.

4. Jul 14, 2011 #3
    Did you mean static coefficient or kinetic coefficient? The static coefficient only matters when the robot is stopped. Once the robot is moving the rolling resistance (kinetic coefficient) is what impedes motion.

5. Jul 14, 2011 #4