Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Define what is meant by Load Impedance?

1. Oct 14, 2012 #1
    OK. I hope this question is acceptable here.

I am studying to take my Ham Radio License Technician's Class exam and I am not sure about the topic of load impedance and load in general.

I looked up "Load impedance" on wikipedia, I'm confused

This sentence "when a high power appliance switches on, it dramatically reduces load impedance" , I can relate to this sentece. When a table saw is switched on in my home, I can hear the lights flicker. Not sure if a "flourescent" is the same as "incandescent" in terms of being affected by this effect but I hear the flourescent bulbs respond.

Another sentence I don't understand is "If the load impedance is not very much higher than the power supply impedance, the voltage will drop"

From what I picked up in my Physics II class (E&M) there is a general relationship that as current increases, voltage decreases not sure if that is only a specific case not a generalization such as the case of a capacitor but...

I don't understand... can someone dumb it down for me?

I think of a power outlet as an open pipe that constantly pours out water and the load could be a straight pipe connected to the original pipe vs. a pipe that is more complex / presents "load" by friction or attempting to oppose gravity such as an inclined pipe.

I hope my question can be understood and answered properly.
    If this question is in the wrong place, I'd appreciate it if it was moved to the appropriate location or I was told to move it and I'll do it rather than delete it.

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 15, 2012 #2
    IN the simplest form the impedance can be thought of as a resistance - and then keep in mind that the Source is not ideal - not a perfect and unlimited supply of power ( voltage AND Current) .