Why are my Earthworms Turning into Slime?

• Thread starter Steven Ellet
  • Start date
In summary, the earthworms died before I could remove them from the original container I bought them in.
Steven Ellet
TL;DR Summary
Why would earthworms turn into slime?
I bought earth worms on two days and the first set of earth worms had turned into slime before I bought it(I didn’t know until after) and the second set of earthworms turned into slime within a few days. They also smelled TERRIBLE! What may have caused that and is that going to be a problem for gardening or adding to good worms?

Likes 256bits
Biology news on Phys.org
Sounds like they died and decomposed. But I'm not an expert in worms.

Likes pinball1970 and BillTre
Steven Ellet said:
TL;DR Summary: Why would earthworms turn into slime?

I bought earth worms on two days and the first set of earth worms had turned into slime before I bought it(I didn’t know until after) and the second set of earthworms turned into slime within a few days. They also smelled TERRIBLE! What may have caused that and is that going to be a problem for gardening or adding to good worms?
Would the temperature you store them at be something to look at?
Is there a shelf life of earthworms in a container?

Steven Ellet said:
I bought earth worms ... had turned into slime
Earthworms are simple, but actually very sensitive animals. Humidity, air and temperature must be always kept within limits (their natural habitat may seem crude, but actually a big lump of soil nicely keeps everything in check).

They are also sensitive to chemicals and to their soil.
But without getting more details no more detailed answer can be given.

• Informative
Likes Steven Ellet, jim mcnamara and pinball1970
Rive said:
Earthworms are simple, but actually very sensitive animals. Humidity, air and temperature must be always kept within limits (their natural habitat may seem crude, but actually a big lump of soil nicely keeps everything in check).