Effect of Change of Potential difference applied to an X-Ray tube

In summary, the conversation discusses the basics of X-rays and the relationship between potential difference applied to an X-ray tube and the emitted radiation's wavelength and intensity. The Duane-Hunt law is mentioned, and the question of what happens to the intensity when the potential difference is increased is brought up. The conversation also mentions the importance of X-ray safety when working in a lab setting.
Bloopy
I am a high school student, so I know only the basics of X-Rays.I simply know about continuous X-rays, cutoff wavelength and threshold wavelength. Now if I increase the potential applied to the X-ray tube, I am certain that the minimum wavelength of emitted radiation decreases. (I say this using λ=hc/eV, which is the Duane-Hunt law)

I am unsure about the intensity of emitted radiation. Does that change?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Bloopy said:
I am a high school student, so I know only the basics of X-Rays.I simply know about continuous X-rays, cutoff wavelength and threshold wavelength. Now if I increase the potential applied to the X-ray tube, I am certain that the minimum wavelength of emitted radiation decreases. (I say this using λ=hc/eV, which is the Duane-Hunt law)

I am unsure about the intensity of emitted radiation. Does that change?
Is this a general question, or are you working with X-rays in the lab? X-ray safety is an important consideration when working with lab setups.

berkeman said:
Is this a general question, or are you working with X-rays in the lab? X-ray safety is an important consideration when working with lab setups.
As I said, I am in high school. There is no practical use of X-Rays. It is just the theoretical part. Actually, my textbook had a multiple choice question saying

"If we increase potential difference applied to an X-Ray tube, what of the following things will happen with the emitted radiation?
A. Intensity increases