Electric bicycle that can re-charge itself?

In summary, it is possible to generate power using magnets and the movement of a bicycle, but this is not practical for most applications.
muddyboots
(Complete physics novice here - I know very little about physics, so please excuse any stupid questions!)

I was reading the 'Electromagnet' thread, about how movement (preferably rotation) is best for generating power using magnets...

What I'm wondering, could you use the rotation of the wheels/pedals on a bicycle, and magnets, to recharge the battery on an electric bicycle? I have been googling to see if such a product exists, but was unable to find it. If you generate power in this way, can you store it easily in a battery?

Thanks :) (This is not for a school project or anything - simply my own curiousity!)

Engineering news on Phys.org
I suppose technically it is possible, question is - what for?

Just to be clear, you have to be pedalling for that to work: you can't use a motor to drive the wheel and a generator to recharge the battery.

Free energy eh??

All the energy comes from the pedals. All you will do is add weight and make the pedalling harder.

Electric bikes have been available for a very long time. Try google

see e.g.
http://www.bionx.ca/en/main/default/31.shtml

Now, the point is of course not to "generate energy", the motor is essentially there to help you up steep hills etc. You can -at least in principle- then re-charge the battery on the flats or when going downhill.
However, most of the bikes that are available today seem to use batteries that can only be re-charged from the wall; but the BionX that I linked to above is one exception.

Borek said:
I suppose technically it is possible, question is - what for?