Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electric bicycle that can re-charge itself?

1. Oct 14, 2008 #1
    (Complete physics novice here - I know very little about physics, so please excuse any stupid questions!)

I was reading the 'Electromagnet' thread, about how movement (preferably rotation) is best for generating power using magnets...

What I'm wondering, could you use the rotation of the wheels/pedals on a bicycle, and magnets, to recharge the battery on an electric bicycle? I have been googling to see if such a product exists, but was unable to find it. If you generate power in this way, can you store it easily in a battery?

Thanks :) (This is not for a school project or anything - simply my own curiousity!)

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 14, 2008 #2

Borek

Staff: Mentor

I suppose technically it is possible, question is - what for?

4. Oct 14, 2008 #3

russ_watters

Just to be clear, you have to be pedalling for that to work: you can't use a motor to drive the wheel and a generator to recharge the battery.

5. Oct 14, 2008 #4
    Free energy eh??

All the energy comes from the pedals. All you will do is add weight and make the pedalling harder.

6. Oct 14, 2008 #5

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Electric bikes have been available for a very long time. Try google

see e.g.
    http://www.bionx.ca/en/main/default/31.shtml

Now, the point is of course not to "generate energy", the motor is essentially there to help you up steep hills etc. You can -at least in principle- then re-charge the battery on the flats or when going downhill.
    However, most of the bikes that are available today seem to use batteries that can only be re-charged from the wall; but the BionX that I linked to above is one exception.

7. Oct 14, 2008 #6

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper