How can I speed up the electrolytic rust removal process?

• Thread starter the mitch
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Rust
In summary, there is no way to speed up the rust removal process. Right now, there is a basic base in the water aka sodium bicarbonate. I need some way of speeding up the current flowing through by lowering the resistance. Maybe the chemistry guys can help. Do you have a means to increase the voltage? Be careful of the hydrogen gas. It is a process I have little knowledge about but the basic are, I think:1. Consider the solution as the “load” on the power supply (welder).2. The load is the circuit component that restricts current flow.3. The solution I believe will not provide a linear response to voltage changes
the mitch
is there any way to speed up the rust removal process.right now ther is a basic base in the water aka sodium bicarbonate. i need some way of speeding up the current flowing through by lowering the resistance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe the chemistry guys can help. Do you have a means to increase the voltage? Be careful of the hydrogen gas.

its outside, i need to find an arc welder for power sorce. 100 amps, 50 volts dc, 100% duty cycle

have you tried increasing the concentration of the sodium bicarbonate solution.?

How does electrolytic dust removal work?

same electrolsis of water to make hydrogen. just it converts the base rust to iron and the rest flakes off. just google electolytic rust removal. amazing what it can do.

Yeah it does work great, I used it to remove rust on some very old tools from my dad. I was in no hurry so I just used an auto battery.

It is a process I have little knowledge about but the basic are, I think:

Consider the solution as the “load” on the power supply (welder).

The load is the circuit component that restricts current flow.