1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electronics - Determine voltage across current source

1. Sep 11, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Determine the voltage across the 2A current source
    2m6lq37.png

2. Relevant equations
    kirchhoff voltage law (kvl)
    kirchhoff current law (kcl)
    ohm's law

3. The attempt at a solution

I'm new to the concept of a current source. I'm not sure how there can be voltage drop across the current source, so maybe the question is asking for the voltage drop across the 10 ohm resistor that's in series with it?
    Are all resistors that are parallel with the power source going to have a voltage drop equal to the source voltage? So the voltage across the 5 ohm resistor and the current source is 50V? I doubt the answer could be that simple though
    I think I'm really missing something to understand how to do this question.

If I need to do KCL, it would have to be at the first junction the 2A flows into right?
    and for KVL, it would be the loop with the 50V power source? Having both equations is leading me nowhere

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 11, 2012 #2

gneill

Staff: Mentor

An ideal current source will produce ANY amount of voltage required to maintain its specified current. So never open circuit an ideal current source :eek:

An ideal voltage source will produce ANY amount of current required to maintain its specified potential difference. So never short circuit an ideal voltage source :eek:

You'll need to find the total potential across the branch with the current source in it. Whatever the drop is across the 10Ω resistor, the remainder must be due to the current source.

4. Sep 11, 2012 #3