Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Energy of a string.

1. Sep 21, 2008 #1
    Hi I'm new to Physics Forum but not Physics. I am well versed with the theories of Quantum Mechanics and String Theory. And I have a question, exactly what "type" of energy do strings posses? In other words when we say a string is a "loop" of energy what kind of energy are we referring to; Kinetic, electromagnetic, electric, nuclear or something else? And is there any "generic" state of energy. I mean can we have energy in no specific form just as energy itself or "pure energy"? Thanks for all your help.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 22, 2008 #2
    It's kinetic energy of a string.
  4. Sep 22, 2008 #3
    But if it's the "kinetic energy of a string" you're implying that the string itself is not made of energy but rather it is made of something else that possesses kinetic energy or a form of energy. How is that so? Thanks for all your help.
  5. Sep 22, 2008 #4
    No, I'm just saying that this is the formal lagrangian of a string with purely kinematical energy. I don't need to assume that the string is made of anything, I don't know what it is made of, and I think stating "it is made of pure energy" is a useless, void, affirmation (it is neither wrong nor true, and most importantly it does not help me whatsoever). What is remarkable, is that you get interactions from a purely free lagrangian. This is quite different from gauge fields in the standard model.
  6. Sep 23, 2008 #5

Gold Member

Let me to consider an spring moving freely in space. Do you claim that its free hamiltonian is "the kinetic energy of the spring"? It is, as a minimum, a bizarre name. But I agree that in any case the formal name is useless as a physics concept. And even more if you consider the relativistic aspects.
  7. Sep 29, 2008 #6