Energy of a String: Understanding the Various Forms of Energy in String Theory

In summary, the conversation discusses the nature of energy possessed by strings, specifically if it is kinetic energy or some other form of energy. Some suggest that the string itself is not made of energy, but rather is a point of space-time with vibrations. The concept of potential energy is also brought up in relation to the strings. It is mentioned that the energy of a string is a sum of both kinetic and potential energy. Overall, it is concluded that there is no clear understanding of what a string is made of, but its behavior and interactions can be described through mathematical models.
Legend-of-Nub
Hi I'm new to Physics Forum but not Physics. I am well versed with the theories of Quantum Mechanics and String Theory. And I have a question, exactly what "type" of energy do strings posses? In other words when we say a string is a "loop" of energy what kind of energy are we referring to; Kinetic, electromagnetic, electric, nuclear or something else? And is there any "generic" state of energy. I mean can we have energy in no specific form just as energy itself or "pure energy"? Thanks for all your help.

Legend-of-Nub.

Physics news on Phys.org
It's kinetic energy of a string.

humanino said:
It's kinetic energy of a string.

But if it's the "kinetic energy of a string" you're implying that the string itself is not made of energy but rather it is made of something else that possesses kinetic energy or a form of energy. How is that so? Thanks for all your help.