Engineering Physics seems like a poor choice now

In summary, Engineering Physics is a great field to pursue, but you need to stress the importance of engineering in your resume in order to stand out from the competition.
kisengue
Hello everyone! I am currently studying Engineering Phyics at Lund University in Sweden. I have one year left, which will give me a master of science degree with a specialization in simulation and scientific computing.

Thing is, people have always been telling me that Engineering Physics is a great career choice, but now when I look for work abroad (primarily in the US and Australia, because Sweden is fricking cold and I need more sun to live) it seems like engineering physics is an almost unknown discipline outside of Europe. Questions:

What fields do I "translate" my degree into? Since nobody is looking for engineering physics engineers, what jobs do I look at that I have a chance of snatching in front of applicants who actually have the requested degree? Do I need to get a PhD in scientific computing/numerical analysis just to find interesting work? I will be bummed out if that's the case, since I haven't been concentrating on getting good enough grades for PhD studies as I've been picturing myself getting into the job market asap. Also, I am primarily interested in actual engineering jobs, research does not really seem like my cup of tea.

EDIT: thankful for answers, of course!

Physics news on Phys.org