Enquiry on flexible-elastic induction heating

In summary, Gold's idea of a flexible/elastic cooking surface is possible, but would require some additional design work.
goldsmiths des
Hi,

I am a designer currently working on alternative induction cooking methods. The question is, whether it is possible to have a flexible/elastic cooking surface (something like a mat, that would roll up, fold up, expand etc.) A project similar to this, is here http://designbygoci.com/Rollup_portfolio.html , but i don't know if something like this would be actually possible?

I lack technical expertise in the field so any hints, directions or knowledge from you would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Hi
My very first instinct was that the power source would not be roll-upable and would take up a lot of room. The picture in that link confirmed my thoughts. I don't see why this would not be possible, in pronciple but you need to include the RF power generator and thermal insulation into your design. The 'heating element' is, after all, only a flat coil-type radiator and that could easily be fabricated. The problem with induction heating is that metal underneath the coil will also get hot and would need to be very low resistance compared with the metal of the pans on top. This means it requires very good insulation underneath, to protect the surface it would rest on. I think this would have to be true even if you could think up some fancy way of winding the coil.
Your post is a bit confusing in that you say you are a designer yet you lack technical expertise. This seems a bit problematical, to me. You really need to get some technical expertise pdq, I should have thought and an EE course would seem to be appropriate before you should get involved. Alternatively, you would be best to collaborate with someone with the appropriate knowledge (it's not trivial).