Finding a Job After Being Fired - Engineer's Tips

• Thread starter Cyrus
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Job
In summary, the conversation discusses concerns about job security for an engineer with a master's degree, particularly in the fields of electrical and computer engineering (EE/CE) and mechanical engineering (ME). The speakers agree that ME can be more limiting in terms of job opportunities, and recommend pursuing EE/CE instead. However, one speaker argues that ME is actually the most versatile degree, especially in the Detroit metro area.
Cyrus
I have a question that has me somewhat concerned. Let's say I am an engineer with a master’s degree and I get fired, or the company has to lay off people, whatever reason...I am suddenly out of a job.

It's got to be pretty damn hard to find another job, no? I would think it to be easier if you are a senior engineer because you have more experience. If you do something specific, chances are going to be slim to finding lots of companies that want you for that same area of work.

Loosing your job just scares the crap out of me sometimes...not now, because I live at home...but if I had a wife and kids...yikes...

Physics news on Phys.org
Depends on the market. If the market is good, you'll get a job even if you barely know which way to hold a computer mouse.

- Warren

I think you would be ok, becuase EE/CE is big. ME, on the other hand, I feel is VERY specific...a little too specific sometimes.

That's why I am trying to learn more about EE/CE whenever I can...

If someone asked me 'would I recommend becoming an ME', I would say EE with CE minor.

I'd do EE/CE if I could start over. That's not to say I don't love ME...It just feels limiting.

Last edited:
cyrusabdollahi said:
I think you would be ok, becuase EE/CE is big. ME, on the other hand, I feel is VERY specific...a little too specific sometimes.

That's why I am trying to learn more about EE/CE whenever I can...