1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Finding KE of a rod with two particles and angular velocity?

1. Mar 27, 2013 #1
    In the figure, two particles, each with mass m = 0.79 kg, are fastened to each other, and to a rotation axis at O, by two thin rods, each with length d = 5.9 cm and mass M = 1.2 kg. The combination rotates around the rotation axis with angular speed ω = 0.32 rad/s. Measured about O, what is the combination's kinetic energy?

I=Ʃmiri2
    KE=1/2Iω2

(.79kg)(.059m2)+(.79kg)(.118m2) = .0137 = I
    1/2(.0137)(.32rad/s2) = 7.01E-4 = KE

Do I need to convert cm to m? Also how do you factor in the mass of the rod? I assume we need that, otherwise they wouldn't have given its mass, etc. I'm extremely new at all of this. Thank you!

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 27, 2013 #2

collinsmark

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hello KU fan,

Well, yes, if you want to work in SI units (kilogram, meter, second units), you'll need to change the centimeters to meters. Doing so means the units of moment of inertia are the standard [kg·m2], and the kinetic energy is in units of Joules [kg·m2/s2].

You can work in some other system of units, but your final answer won't end up in units of Joules so easily.

Yes, you do need that. You need to find the rods' contribution to the total moment of inertia.

Here is a useful link that might help (I often find it very helpful):
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_moments_of_inertia

I think you missed the order of the squaring and the closing parenthesis when you typed in the numbers. I think you meant:

(.79 [kg])(.059 [m])2 + (.79 [kg])(.118 [m])2 = .0137 [kg·m2] = I