Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Finding number of automorphisms for Z/nZ^*

1. May 15, 2015 #1
    Hi,

I'm studying Abstract Algebra and was wondering if someone could help me understand a formula for computing ##\big|\operatorname{aut} \mathbb{Z}_n^{*}\big|## using a formula described in this reference:http://www.msri.org/people/members/chillar/files/autabeliangrps.pdf

Here is the basic formula. I don't understand:

(1) the definitions for ##c_k## and ##d_k##,
    (2) if the formula is referring to the same ##p## or the prime factors of ##n##, and
    (3) how Sylow p-subgroups are related to this problem although I realize a finite abelian group is equal to a direct product of distinct Sylow p-subgroups as in the example below.

Given ##\mathbb{Z}_n^{*}=\mathbb{Z}_{p_1^{e_1}}\times \mathbb{Z}_{p_2^{e_2}}\times\cdots\times \mathbb{Z}_{p_n^{e_n}}##,
    define the following ##2n## numbers:
    ##\begin{align*} d_k=\operatorname{max}\{l:e_l=e_k\}\\
    c_k=\operatorname{min}\{l:e_l=e_k\}
    \end{align*}
    ##

then:
    ##
    \big|\operatorname{aut} \mathbb{Z}_n^{*}\big|=\prod_{k=1}^n p^{d_k}-p^{k-1}\prod_{j=1}^n \left(p^{e_j}\right)^{n-d_j}\prod_{i=1}^n \left(p^{e_i}-1\right)^{n-c_i+1}
    ##

For example, I know ##\mathbb{Z}_{100}^*\cong \mathbb{Z}_{2^2}^*\times\mathbb{Z}_{5^2}^*\cong\mathbb{Z}_2\times \mathbb{Z}_{20}## and that ##\big|\operatorname{aut}\mathbb{Z}_{100}^*\big|=32##. Could we perhaps go over the formula for this example? Also, I think this is also related to Sylow p-subgroups and I know the two Sylow p-subgroups for this group is ##S_2=\{1,7,43,49,51,57,93,99\}##, and ##S_5=\{1,21,41,61,81\}##.

I'd like to find the size of the first 500 and wrote a routine to find them using another way and I'd like to check my results with the formula above.

Ok thanks for reading,
    Jack

Last edited: May 15, 2015
  2. jcsd