1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Force of interaction between magnets

1. Aug 12, 2014 #1
    hi,

I'm a student and i have an electromagnet and a bar magnet paced head on coaxially and i want to calculate the force between these two when the distance is around 0.5 cm. please help i'm unable to find anything useful after browsing various websites.
    Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 12, 2014 #2
    This problem definitely requires computational analysis. It's the very fact that matter is composed of atomic particles (hard particles) and their distribution it's what makes net forces in space. Without finite element method we actually couldn't make aproximations to engineering problems that seems impossible to solve by conventional math. My conclusion is that you need to apply finite element method to accurately solve this kind of problem. But you have also to define properties of the magnets, their composition and so on... Surely computational analysis is needed.

Gravity problems themselves are easily solved accurately enough because planet earth is much bigger than bodies such as ours and we can plot forces like being in the same direction. But that is an illusion. That only gives us the chance to predict bodies behavior in an easy way by conventional math but it has it's uncertaintities.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2014
  4. Aug 13, 2014 #3

sir i'm highly obliged that you sincerely participated in my problem and shared your knowledge but as i said earlier i'm a student and have not enough resources so now what way should i choose for the computational analysis so that i can solve this problem.

5. Aug 13, 2014 #4

Meir Achuz

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member