Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fortran90 reading in a formatted input file

1. Jul 14, 2011 #1
    Hi All,

Let me preface by saying this is my first post, but I'm very glad to have found and joined what looks like a great community here. Also I have no Fortran experience, so please bear with my greenness:

I'm trying to resurrect and use a code written by another engineer in our organization some years ago. I have the following code for opening and reading an input file, now my question is how the input file should look to feed into this correctly.

print*,'Opening / Reading Input File: ...'
    print*
    open(10,file='input',status='unknown',form='formatted')
    read(10,*)a
    read(10,*)b
    read(10,*)c,d
    read(10,*)e,f,g,h
    read(10,*)i
    read(10,*)j
    read(10,*)ntimes
    do i=1,ntimes
    read(10,*)time(i)
    enddo
    close(10)

I'm sorry if this is very basic; I'm very new at this!

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 14, 2011 #2
    What you can try is switching your read statements leading up to your DO/ENDDO loop with write statements and seeing what the file looks like. It would look like

Code (Text):
    open(10,file='test.txt')
          write(10,*)a
          write(10,*)b
          write(10,*)c,d
          write(10,*)e,f,g,h
          write(10,*)i
          write(10,*)j
          write(10,*)ntimes
          close(10)
    With arbitrary values assigned to a-j and ntimes.

Just an idea.

4. Jul 14, 2011 #3
    Thanks for that; it did show me how basic of an input I could use.

I am having some trouble with this in debugging though. I get a ".exe triggered a breakpoint" error at the line of the first read statement. I'll do some more headscratching and then return with more details if I can't get it.

Thanks again.

5. Jul 14, 2011 #4

Mark44

Staff: Mentor