Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Freshman HS student working on a scanning tunneling microscope

1. Dec 31, 2006 #1
    I am a freshman high school student working on a scanning tunneling microscope for a science fair project. I need to build a vacume for bottom up capabilities. If anyone can help with the STM or the vacume it would be greatly appreciated.:rolleyes:

Last edited: Jan 1, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 31, 2006 #2

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What's your time limit (deadline for completion) and total budget?

4. Dec 31, 2006 #3
    There arent any really demanding time constraints, april or may i would guess. I am hoping to apply for and recieve a grant to cover the cost, if you have any suggestions f where to apply.

5. Dec 31, 2006 #4

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I hope you have the design and cost analysis worked out (do you have any source that told you this was possible). I can't imagine building an ambient (no or low-vacuum) low-end STM for less than $1000 (probably will come closer to $2000 - much more if you want medium to high vacuum), and I don't think it can be done over 4-5 months unless you're got lots and lots of spare time.

And in addition to all this, there's the whole knowledge thingy. You'd better be pretty good at designing and debugging electronics (pre-amps, ADCs, etc.) and writing data acquisition codes (unless there's something out there that you can steal). The vibration isolation is far from trivial - you need to know a good bit of vibration theory.

I'd say this project is far beyond the scope of the typical high-school freshman. I'm not trying to discourage you, because I don't really know anything about you to make a specific judgement, but this is my honest opinion.

6. Jan 1, 2007 #5

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor