Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fuse Tap Circuit Problem (easy?)

1. Jul 25, 2010 #1
    Hello. I am a programmer and haven't done anything with hardware since my physics class a few years ago. Needless to say I've forgotten a few things and after a few hours of searching google and troubleshooting I'm unable to fix my problem.

I am using a fuse tap (it allows me to use a fuse as a power source in my car with a wire coming out the end) with a 5 amp fuse in it. I am using a 12 volt battery in my car. I hooked an LED up with resistors in a parallel circuit. The problem is that the LED does not light up when power is being supplied.

I'm assuming I've done a calculation wrong but I am not for sure about this. It is possible that the fuse tap I bought was bad but i doubt it. I have verified that the LED does work with a simple AA battery test so the LED is not dead.

Here are my calculations: R = Resistance, V1 = my battery (12v), V2 = LED FW Supply (3.2V), Current = LED Amps (20mA)
    R = (V1 - V2) / Current
    R = (12 - 3.2) / 20mA
    R = (8.8) / .02 Amps
    R = 440 Ohms

Therefore I bought two 220 Ohm resistors to be able to account for this. They are 1/8 Watt. I did a calculation for this part as well but I was very confused about what the watt rating of a resistor even does.

P (in Watts) = V / R
    P = 12 / 440
    P = .0272 Watts

Being as this watt rating is very low I am assuming that a 1/8 watt resistor will be able to handle this?