General differential equation solution for Kepler Problem

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of finding a solution to the Kepler problem using initial conditions such as masses, positions, and velocities. The Wikipedia solution is mentioned, but it is stated that it would be too long to be practical. It is suggested to calculate the relevant quantities step by step instead. The possibility of a general solution for n-bodies is also discussed, but it is stated that there is no such solution. The conversation ends with the reassurance that the individual knows more about physics than most high school students and the mention of numerical methods as a possible way to approximate a solution.
Steve Jones
To be honest, I don't know any physics. I am a high school student who has taken high school physics, but America's education system isn't known for teaching much more than Newton's laws. I have, however, taken Multivariable/Vector calculus, so I have a decent math background.

I was wondering is there is a specific form of the solution to the Kepler problem. The initial conditions would be the masses, positions, and velocities. I have found this link to the wikipedia solution, but I wonder if it is possible to have a solution that I can just plug the masses, velocities, and positions in and get an equation for the motion of both bodies.

Also, I wonder if that solution could be generalized to include however many bodies you want. The wikipedia article said it could not be solve in terms of first integrals, but I wonder if there is a general solution for n-bodies.

Please be nice to me :P I don't possesses a vast knowledge of physics (or any at all). I also don't know if this thread is in the right place either.

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Steve Jones said: