GPA and Job Prospects: What to Do?

In summary, if you enjoy electromagnetism and physics, then it might be a good idea to continue your education and finish your degree.
ep001
Hello everyone, i am in my third year of university and need of some guidance. Where to begin, i have 72 credits and a 2.340 gpa in Electrical Engineering due mostly to work(at a bank), social life and life, since my parents cannot help me with my bills. I know one thing is certain, i have come too far and will not drop out. Next semester i am quitting work and focusing on school for a year but after some calculations, even if i get all A's my gpa will not be more than a 3.1. Given that i have work experience in general, would having a gpa <3.0 not make me unqualified for a job upon graduation in this current economy?

Physics news on Phys.org
At this point the best thing to do is earn the highest grades you can and finish your degree. An upward trend your final 2 years is a plus. You should emphasize your work experience when applying for jobs.

The first question is: Do you really like EE? Not just for the money, but do you like it. If so, I am going to make a suggestion I am sure a lot of people are not going to agree, BUT here goes:

I suggest IF...AND ONLY IF you are serious to finish your degree and that you have a strong will and you take your commit/promise to yourself very serious, to take one semester off and continue work. Then you use the time to restudy back the important subjects you missed. The first subject is CALCULUS!

CALCULUS! Start from page ONE, make sure you understand all the mean value, rollie's, limits, fundamental theorem... of the first semester. For the second semester, make sure you study good the methods of integrations, polar coordinates and particular the power series approximation of functions. If you have already studied third semester, make sure you under all the subjects in vector value function, line integral, divergence and stoke's theorems.