Green's function for problems involving linear isotropic media

spin_100
TL;DR Summary
Is there a way to tackle problems involving linear isotropic dielectric media with permittivity separated by a boundary directly using an appropriate green's function? I am studying electrodynamics from Jackson's electrodynamics and after learning about the power of using green's function to solve boundary value problems, I was wondering if there is something similar to this for dielectric media. I have shown my approach here but I am stuck at a point.
I am considering a simple problem of a sphere of isotropic dielectric media (permittivity ## \epsilon ## and Radius ##R##) placed in a uniform electric field ## E_0 ## (z-direction). The problem is from Griffiths Chapter 4, example 7.
Since, it is a linear dielectric material, ## D = \epsilon E ## Since there is a discontinuity in ## \epsilon ##
We can model ## \epsilon (r) = \epsilon \theta (R-r) + \epsilon_0 \theta (r-R)##
Taking the divergence of D and since there are no free charges. (external charges) we get $$ 0 = \epsilon(r) \nabla \cdot E + \delta (R-r) ( \epsilon_0 - \epsilon ) E \cdot r$$

Then, we get the possion's equation $$ \nabla \cdot E = - \delta (R-r) ( \epsilon_0 - \epsilon ) E \cdot r $$ After that I don't know how to proceed further. I solved for the potential using an appropriate green's function but the result I am getting is wrong.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
You can get the Green's function using the image-charge concept. The Green's ##G(\vec{x},\vec{x}')## function is given by the solution of the problem having a "unit charge" at ##\vec{x}'##. Then you need an image charge (distinguishing the cases when ##\vec{x}'## is inside or outside the sphere). The case of a homogeneous electric field is given by taking two charges ##\pm Q## to infinity and moving them to ##\pm \infty \vec{e}_z## (for the asymptocally constant electric field in the ##z## direction).