PhD Guidance: Seeking Multiphysics Position in Europe

In summary, the poster is looking for advice on finding a university with a renowned department or study group in a specific field of study for their upcoming PhD studies. They have a strong background in electrical engineering and photonics and are interested in pursuing a multiphysics-related subject. They are open to any changes related to the PhD subject and are asking for recommendations or advice from anyone who may have connections or knowledge in this field.
BDD2
Hi all,

First time poster here, and currently looking for some good advice. I’m about to finish my master studies in June and therefore I’m looking for advice. I’m searching for a university that has a renowned department/study group in a specific field of study. I hope to join that study group/department such that I would have good guidance during my doctoral studies.

Currently I’m in my last year of electrical engineering as well as photonics engineering. A little over a year ago, I also finished both bachelors in electrical engineering and applied physics.

For next year however (from July and onward) I'd like to obtain a PhD position that is physics, photonics and/or electronics related. My friends told me that I should pursue the top universities. Personally I think, good guidance from a professor/study group/department that has a lot of knowledge in the field of study I want to do my doctoral studies in, is more important.

To get the best of my educational background, it would be interesting to have a subject which is multiphysics related. Within this scope is for example the modelling of optical or semiconductor devices within electromagnetics.