Optimizing Energy Harvesting from Power Lines for Autonomous UAVs

• Thread starter donstenx
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Energy
In summary: I would say this is definitely not a DIY design job. There would be serious insurance issues, to say the least. Rather than a magnetic coupling, with all the problems of open circuited current transformers, I could suggest a capacitative take-off. The advantage would be that you would have your supply at all times, compared with the current transformer, which would only work whilst power is being consumed. Even so, you would need some pretty highly specified capacitors. Electrical power is big business so you should expect an appropriate level of expense.
donstenx
Hey, I have little knowledge in electrical so i thought it is the best to ask the experts. I am planning to design a mini uav for powerline surveillance. Since it should be autonomous, I thought it would be good if I can harvest some energy from the power line through electromagnetic induction. The uav should have some mechanism to perch on the lines & recharge the power supply.

The question:
1) I believe it is possible, but how the mechanism works?
2) How much energy can be harvested?
3) If I use (for example: 20V of batteries), how long it takes to charge up?

If possible, can you provide some references/diagram/calculations.

Thanks! (Sorry if my english is bad)

Engineering news on Phys.org
If there is current through the power line this should be possible.
Place a current transformer with appropiate turns ratio on the power line (This will probably have to be a custom designed transformer). Rectify the output from the current transformer. Use this rectified voltage to charge your battery.
With power line operating at maximum power, can probably harvest 1% of the power with no problem. With normal power lines this will be MUCH more power than required.