Is There a Link Between Schizophrenia and Physics Ability?

In summary, recent studies have shown a potential link between schizophrenia and physics ability. Researchers have found that individuals with schizophrenia tend to have above-average scores on tests of spatial and mathematical abilities, which are also skills necessary for success in physics. However, the exact nature of this relationship is still unclear and further research is needed to fully understand the connection between these two seemingly unrelated fields.
open minded
I'm a therapist who in the past worked primary with people who had a diagnosis of schizophrenia. I was thinking about the connection between people diagnosed with autism and math ability, and then thought about John Nash and his portrayal in "A Beautiful Mind." Some of the people I worked with were very drawn to thoughts about god and the universe and how it works. I came here because I'm suddenly curious about a connection between the process that is happening in the mind of someone with schizophrenia and an ability with physics.

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

Please take some time to read our guidelines and be aware that we probably can't help you in your quest to understand any schizophrenia to physics connection as that is probably speculative and not mainstream science unless you can cite supporting peer reviewed papers on the subject.

jedishrfu said:
Welcome to PF!

Please take some time to read our guidelines and be aware that we probably can't help you in your quest to understand any schizophrenia to physics connection as that is probably speculative and not mainstream science unless you can cite supporting peer reviewed papers on the subject.