Help Course Selection: Analogue Electronics versus Digital Electronics

In summary, the student is seeking advice on which electronics course to take for their elective. They are considering Analog Electronics and Digital Electronics, and provide the course descriptions for both. Some input from others is appreciated, with one person suggesting that Analog Electronics may be more essential for an EE. Mention is also made of a renowned co-author of a microelectronics book at the University of Waterloo.
dacruick
Hi,

I am a student at the University of Waterloo and am entering my 3rd year of my BSc.

I have an elective this semester and I thought I would take an electronics course. I feel like it would be useful for a bunch of things.

In terms of my future career, and what skills would be applicable for me, and attractive to companies, which course should I take? Analogue Electronics or Digital Electronics.

Here are the course descriptions:
Analogue Electronics: p and n materials, pn diodes, junction and FET transistors. Transistor amplifiers and their equivalent circuits. Operational amplifiers. Oscillators and power supplies. Computer simulation of devices and circuits.
Digital Electronics: Logic gates, flip-flops and shift registers. Binary numbers and Boolean algebra. An introduction to microprocessors. This will include arithmetic logic units, parallel input/output ports, assembly language and a number of examples

Any input would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
dacruick said:
Hi,

I am a student at the University of Waterloo and am entering my 3rd year of my BSc.

I have an elective this semester and I thought I would take an electronics course. I feel like it would be useful for a bunch of things.

In terms of my future career, and what skills would be applicable for me, and attractive to companies, which course should I take? Analogue Electronics or Digital Electronics.

Here are the course descriptions: