Comparing Courses for Postgrad Prep: Microfabrication vs Circuit Design

In summary, a student is seeking advice on which of two courses to take for exploring their options in a potential postgrad program and career in electrical engineering and physics. The first course focuses on micro- and nanofabrication processes and hands-on lab work, while the second course delves into electronic circuit design and the use of microcontrollers and programmable logic devices. Some suggest the first course as it covers unique and valuable skills, while the second course may be easier to learn independently.
Sferics
Hi all,

I am currently deciding between two courses for the coming semester. I am a sophomore math and physics major, but contemplating an electrical engineering/physics postgrad program and possible career. As such, I would like to try out a more applied, lab-type course in order to explore my options and take a bit of a respite from theory courses.

Which of these two courses do you think would give a more useful skill set for undertaking meaningful future undergraduate research and/or industry internships?

1) Introduction to micro- and nanofabrication processes used for photonic and electronic devices. Students use state-of-the-art cleanroom to fabricate transistors and light-emitting diodes (LEDs). Lecures on fabrication processes, including lithography, deposition, etching, oxidation, implantation, diffusion and electrical characterization.