Help Finding College for Astrophysicist: GPA & Test Scores

In summary, the individual is a sophomore in high school seeking advice on which college to attend to become an astrophysicist. They are advised to focus on getting into a good undergraduate physics program and to aim for top universities such as Caltech, Princeton, Harvard, MIT, and Stanford. High grades and test scores are recommended, but it is also noted that success in undergraduate education is largely dependent on individual effort rather than the institution. The availability of undergraduate research opportunities is also mentioned as a factor to consider, but not a concern at the current stage.
tyredstar
Hey guys, I need some help with my colledge selection.
I am still a sophomore in High School but I would like to know what would be a good colledge to attend to become a Astrophysicist. (If you do post a colledge could you also post what my GPA should be to get into the colledge and what i should score on my ACT/SAT)

Physics news on Phys.org
Your GPA, ACT score and/or SAT score should be as high as possible. You will likely not specialize in astrophysics until graduate school, so you should probably concentrate on getting into a good undergraduate physics program first.

Astrophysics is usually a graduate field (i.e. PhD). To go onto astrophysics, Caltech, Princeton, Harvard, MIT and Stanford should be good choices.

Grades and test scores should be as high as possible, i.e. >3.9 unweighted and >2200 SAT.