1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help for tomorrow's exam - program that can read in exam results

1. Apr 29, 2014 #1
    Hey guys, im studying astrophys but i have a programming module, so hopefully this is the right place to ask.

I have a few questions that I am having difficulty with so I am going to pose it in the form of a program if that's cool? I can then take it apart to see how its done.
    I'd appreciate it if someone has the time!

So, I need a program that can read in exam results that are in putted (the input is in-between 0 to 100) and it is an unknown number of exam results to be inputted.
    The program is to look for a repeat number that has been typed in before.

So for example the numbers may be inputted for the next 4000 years until the same two come up.
    So how would I go about the program (maybe using arrays?) that can keep accepting inputs to an unknown quantity. When the matching pair of results are found, I would then like all of the user inputted results to be summed and printed to screen.

Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 29, 2014 #2
    oh, it could be 4000 years or 2 minutes, its the infinite storing array until the match comes up im having issues with!

4. Apr 29, 2014 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Your program requirements are a bit imprecise. Is this close to what you are asking?

** Sum all numbers that are input until you get a 2nd occurrance of the same number input. Numbers are between 0-100.

If so, that's pretty easy to code with finite resources (assuming the sum doesn't grow too large for the size of the summing variable).

5. Apr 29, 2014 #4
    Thanks for your quick response.
    Would I just write a simple array and leave the square parenthesis without a constant?

6. Apr 29, 2014 #5