Help Identifying Unclear Object Seen Through Telescope

• Thread starter a7d07c8114
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Telescope
In summary, the new person saw an object in the vicinity of Jupiter that they could not focus clearly enough on. They think it might have been a disk shape and it was larger than the image of Jupiter. They suggest trying again later if possible. The scope they were using was not known.
a7d07c8114
Hi, I'm pretty new at this amateur astronomy thing, and I saw something through my telescope that I could not focus clearly enough on (as to be expected from a telescope I picked up from craigslist for $10). I would like help identifying it.
Latitude: 40° 15' 36" N
Longitude: 74° 16' 27" W (note: these are slightly approximated, should be within a 10 second margin though)
Time: Wed 2011 Aug 24 3:50 -ish UTC, and persisted afterward
Object location: In the vicinity of Jupiter (aim point RA: 2h 56m 54s)
Object description: I saw a curved white line. I was unable to focus on it, so it was blurry and I can't give you much more than that. It might have been a disk shape, and I was seeing the edge? I think it was larger than the image of Jupiter - I could focus on Jupiter, yet the image of the line would still be large and unfocused.
If this is the wrong place for this question I apologize.

Astronomy news on Phys.org
The possibilites are endless - sounds like a lens flare to me. The human eye is very easily deceived.

I was just looking at Jupiter a few days ago, and I didn't see anything near it. Check again tonight if you can and make sure it isn't lens flare, or a cloud, or something else.

a7d07c8114 said:
Object description: I saw a curved white line. I was unable to focus on it, so it was blurry and I can't give you much more than that.

Sure you can. Sketch it.

Use a pencil on paper (not a computer) so you can Draw all the fuzzy bits.
Reverse black for white (or you'll go through your pencil in a hurry).