Help this PFer with changing plans (suggerences needed)

• Thread starter Redsummers
  • Start date
In summary: I would recommend that you take undergraduate courses in real analysis, complex analysis, measure theory, and integration theory.
Redsummers
This is not a thread about 'can I get into there or there' etc... It's just that I need some advice about my current situation. Which, after some searching in PF, I could not find any answers regarding a similar situation.

So, to get an idea, I am currently studying a Physics B.Sc. in Germany (taught in English). My grades are fine so far (A-ish? German grading is weird). And I will be graduating next year (i.e. June 2012). So, I would not be worried if I had to apply to a physics graduate program...

HOWEVER, this past year I have become really attracted to pure mathematics. By this I don't mean that I want to pursue a graduate degree in Theoretical physics; I want to pursue a graduate degree in pure mathematics.

Now the problem is, in Germany, the universities where you can pursue graduate studies in English for Mathematics are two: the BMS (Berlin) and Uni Bonn. Obviously, Uni Bonn is one of the top notch universities for Mathematics in Europe. They have the max Planck institute for mathematics there, etc... And the BMS is quite well known in Europe, so that I don't know whether I would really have a shot or not.

That said, since I want to broaden my chances, I have considered applying to the US. Now, my problem is that I don't really know how does a 'changing plan' like this would work in the US.

Can physics students apply to a mathematics department? Or they just get rejected right away? Do you think I should apply to an undergraduate math-degree, instead? (in that case, would I need to take the SAT? could I take the M-GRE to get into an undergrad math program?)

I have been doing some searching in different Math dept., but I don't see anything related being mentioned...