Help with Motor startup dynamics model

In summary, the conversation is about building electronics to control a brushless motor (BLDC) and the need for a physical/mathematical model for motor startup. The individual has some work on the subject but is having trouble simplifying the equations. They are looking for assistance in obtaining time values for x=1,2,3,4... and discussing an algorithm that uses a table of time deltas for motor control. They also mention some tweaking done for smooth transitioning from blind to feedback loop control. One individual is not familiar with motor control but was involved in the coding effort.
RSilva
Hi,

I am building some electronics to control a brushless motor (BLDC). I am studying the motor startup and I need the physical/mathematical model. My page at http://bldc.wikidot.com/p-esc-startup has some work on this subject but I think that something is wrong when I try to simplify the equations of x(t).

Who can help? I need to obtain the time values for x=1,2,3,4,... but I am still looking for a good x(t) equation. Some calculus can be done with a 8 bit microcontroller so I can't use some functions...

Physics news on Phys.org
The way I've seen this done is via a table of time deltas. The first one or two iterations may be backwards so the table takes this into account. After the frist two entries, the time deltas decrease as the array is incrementelly accessed, with the assumption that angular acceleration is constant (however in the real world, it turns out that this table has to be tuned a bit by trial and error). In our case, Bemf should have been present after 7 or 8 "blind" steps, and the switch was made.