High sensitivity continuity tester

In summary: The transistors are only rated for 30V maximum; so 24V is OK but no higher. I've built a few of these and found that they work fine with 24V but the output is a little weaker.In summary, this circuit is designed to generate a 12V output signal when there is continuity. It is rated for 30V, but may work better with 24V.
mattyboson12
TL;DR Summary
Freelance product design project
Hello,

I'm a mechanical designer so have limited experience on circuit design. I'm designing a product in my freetime which requires a high speed continuity signal to trigger my system - the faster it is, the more accurate the output so ideally looking at sub 1ms.
  • I'm hoping to power it with a 12v power supply and when it triggers (when there is continuity) a 12V signal is emitted
  • Looking at sub milli second response from the tester
  • Looking at testing high resistance objects e.g. continuity through a large machine so i assume it would be in the +kΩ
I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction/ any resources which could help me design this circuit. What would the limitations be when trying to design a high sensitivity tester? Thanks, Matt

Engineering news on Phys.org
mattyboson12 said:
Looking at testing high resistance objects e.g. continuity through a large machine so i assume it would be in the +kΩ
You can get 10 usec times from a microcontroller without problems. The resistance path will depend on the type of machine, and what you are trying to measure.

Machinery is a huge field. You need to provide more information so as to get good advice.

Likes DaveE
In particular what is creating the "continuity signal" and what are the expected open and closed impedances.

Likes DaveE