What Are Some Options for Science Classes After Junior Year in High School?

In summary: I could try taking the college level classes there and see how well I do and if I like it then maybe transfer to the university.In summary, a high school senior is undecided about what to do after their junior year. They are considering going to a local community college and taking two science courses. If they do well in the AP physics course and exam, most colleges would give them credit for their introductory courses.
jbmiller
Hey everyone,

I'm currently a freshman in high school taking Biology. For my sophomore year I am enrolled for Pre-AP Chem and Pre-AP Physics. And for my junior year I will probably be taking AP Chem and AP Physics.

I'm not really sure what science classes to take after my junior year. Our school offers no further classes that would be of great help to me, nor would I enjoy them as much as I will Chem and Physics.

I'm basically asking if you guys would recommend going to a local community college and taking 2 science courses there for my senior year. I'm already going to have to go there for my senior math class(Calc BC) because our most advanced math classes are AP Calc and AP stats which I will also be taking my junior year.

If you could give me an idea of the workload/intensity of the college level classes as a senior I would greatly appreciate it.

P.s. I'm taking three including Calc BC, so if you could include that with the Physics and Chem courses then I would really appreciate it.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Why do you need to know now? This is 2 years down the road. A lot can happen in two years.

Because depending on the replies I get it could alter the course I take in deciding various courses. I haven't turned in my course application quite yet because I wanted to see if I should space it out or not.