How Can You Calculate Near-Peak Power Consumption for a DC Motor at High RPMs?

In summary: IR drop and maintain a constant effective voltage across the motor. This effect is to maintain a constant speed under varying loads. They also have a current limiter so that the maximum current spec. for the motor is not exceeded. This means that yes, you can have maximum power at maximum speed.
robs314
I'm a mechanical engineer selecting a DC motor. I have the values for rated continuous operation, but I would like to have a ball-park figure for "almost" peak power consumed (which can only be sustained for a few seconds).

I realize that absolute Peak Torque is when the motor is stalled. For my purpose, that is useless, and I would like to have a vague estimate for what the power consumed would be at, say, a few hundred rpm, at almost peak torque

I have a peak current of 400A, a Peak Power of 25.38 kW, a DC armature resistance of 17.5mOhms and a Speed Constant of 50rpm/V

Are there any ways of working this out simply? Or any general rule-of thumbs?

Many thanks for reading this

Engineering news on Phys.org
I would consider a few possibilities:

(1) Motor inrush current when starting motor. Ask manufacturer for curve.
(2) Locked rotor current at nameplate voltage.
(2) Energy required to get motor spinning at rated rpm in certain time.

Some of these formulas may help:

http://www.reliance.com/mtr/flaclcmn.htm

Torque varies almost linerarly with speed
T = T(max)(1 - N / (Nmax))

Power consumption also varies roughly linearly with speed
P = P(max) (1 - N/(Nmax) )

Nmax is the maximum possible RPM, that is no load RPM.

thankyou both very much for your replies

@edgepflow, those options would give me a good estimate, but I have no more available data. That reliance website is good, I've come across it before.