How should continue on my study?

• Thread starter n_kelthuzad
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary, the person is a high school student in NZ who is unsure about which subject to choose for university. They prefer pure mathematics, but are also considering engineering or computer programming for the higher incomes. They are good at mathematics, but not as good with language skills and okay with physics. They are seeking advice on what will happen if they choose one of these three subjects, as they do not want to be a teacher or professor due to their language skills. The conversation also includes a recommendation to improve communication skills through Toastmasters if they want to succeed in any of these fields. The person suggests studying applied mathematics or statistics and doing a few electives in programming if interested. They also mention the importance of building a portfolio and gaining experience in
n_kelthuzad
I'm a High School student in NZ, and I am going to the local university next year. However I don't know what subject should I choose, I perfer pure mathematics, although engineering or computer programming may have much higher incomes so I am considering them. I am very good at mathematics (I studied calculus in my 1st junior year), not so good with language skills and O.K. with physics. Even maths is my most favoured option I am still not sure with path to choose. Can anyone tell me clearly what will happen if I choose one of these 3 subjects? (I don't like to be a teacher or professor because of my language skills)

Physics news on Phys.org
n_kelthuzad said: