How to choose a field for PhD?

• Thread starter A Dhingra
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Field Phd
In summary, the individual is interested in a lot of different topics, but is unsure which one to focus on for a PhD.
A Dhingra
Hi there..

I have been away from PF for a long time now. But I need some guidance and I have come back here.
I am describing all the fields that I believe I have some degree of interest in, and now I need to decide which one to take up for a Phd.
I am currently doing a Masters in Theoretical Physics. It has a lot of Particle Physics theory related courses like RQFT, Quantum THeory: path intergrals, MQFT, Standard Model.I have taken the first two courses already, I am not sure if I understand them properly or not, but I enjoyed doing calculations for Feynman diagrams. Also, I had a course in particle physics, that was based on experimental aspect. Well, I somehow do not like experimental work and hence didn't appreciate this course at all. It sounded a lot like facts nd less of explanation to all those weird things.

Other than Particle Theory, I have keen interest in foundation of Quantum Mechanics, but all my professors have said it has no scope, not for a PhD. They have suggested Quantum Optics and Information. I looked at the work going on in these fields and it seems to be inclined towards experimental side. I believe, I have interest in Optics... as in how photon interacts with matter and all the amazing properties of light, but as far as I know there not much in this.Further, I am not so sure about using the Quantum ideas to develop Quantum computers...this doesn't fascinate me much.

I possibly have a little interest in Materials as well. That is because I worked with Ferroeletric and Piezoelectric material. I am quite interested to study the phase transition in different materials. This leads me to Statistical Physics and its applications. I think I want this as well.