How to convert DC to AC for auto sensor?

In summary, a user is looking for help with converting 12V DC to AC in order to measure fluid permittivity in real time for automotive applications. They are new to PF and have limited experience, and are seeking detailed help. Another user has suggested using a capacitance meter kit that runs off of 12Vdc as a potential solution.
jrstaples1
Can anyone help me convert 12v DC to AC for the purpose of measuring fluid permittivity in real time, automotive application? I'm new to PF and limited experience, so all the help/details you can provide are greatly appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org

jrstaples1 said:
Can anyone help me convert 12v DC to AC for the purpose of measuring fluid permittivity in real time, automotive application? I'm new to PF and limited experience, so all the help/details you can provide are greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the PF.

I moved your post from the end of another thread to here, to start your own thread with the question.

It's not so much that you want to convert DC to AC, it's that you want to power your sensor with 12Vdc. The sensor will contain an oscillator circuit of some kind, and that's the source of your AC signal. There are lots of ways to make oscillator circuits. You basically want to make a capacitance meter? Is that right?

Yes exactly, I want a capacitance meter for continuous monitoring of auto fluids. I came across this,

http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9485

I wonder if this is not exactly what I'm looking for.

jrstaples1 said:
Yes exactly, I want a capacitance meter for continuous monitoring of auto fluids. I came across this,

http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9485

I wonder if this is not exactly what I'm looking for.

That looks like a great kit to use, and it runs off of 12Vdc too.

What is the purpose of converting DC to AC for auto sensor?