How to Pulse a Charge? - Electrical Systems Guide

In summary, to make a piece of metal positively charged for a short time and pulse, you can isolate the metal and connect a power supply to it briefly to charge up its parasitic capacitance. To store more charge, use a higher voltage. If you want to discharge the metal in a spark, you can charge it to a few thousand volts and then discharge it safely.
I am new to electrical systems, but I wanted to know, how would someone be able to make a piece of metal positively charged for a short time and pulse?

Engineering news on Phys.org
DLHill said:
I am new to electrical systems, but I wanted to know, how would someone be able to make a piece of metal positively charged for a short time and pulse?

If the piece of metal is isolated (insulated), then just connect a power supply to it briefly and then disconnect it. You will have charged up the parasitic capacitance of the metal to its surroundings, and that excess charge will remain on the metal for a while (on a dry day it can be minutes, on a humid day it will be much less).

To store more charge on the metal, you just use a higher voltage.

What kind of metal piece do you have in mind, and how much charge do you want to place on it?

For what purpose and how short of a time (milli,micro,nano second)?

Last edited by a moderator:
DLHill said:

If you want to charge a piece of metal to a few thousand volts and then discharge it in a spark you can use this technique.

Very simple and safe.

Last edited by a moderator:

Pulsing a charge refers to the process of applying a brief burst of electrical energy to a material in order to temporarily increase its electric charge. This can be achieved through various methods, such as using a high-voltage power supply or a pulse generator.