How to work with non-constant forces?

In summary, when a 1 kg block at rest is pushed with a force of x^2, the speed of the object at 10 meters can be found by using the Work Energy Theorem and integrating the force function. The resulting velocity function is (x^3)/3, and when 10 meters is plugged in, the speed is 25.8 m/s.
PhizKid

Homework Statement

A 1 kg. block at rest is pushed with a force of x^2, where x is the displacement (in meters). What is the speed of the object at 10 meters?

Homework Equations

F = ma

The Attempt at a Solution

I did x^2 = ma and found the acceleration by dividing the mass which is just 1. So a = x^2. I integrated to find the velocity function so I got [(x^3)/3] + C. It's initially at rest so at x = 0, the velocity is 0 which means C = 0 so I can get rid of that. If I plug in 10 meters into the velocity equation: (10^3)/3 I get 333.3 m/s. Solution says this is wrong but I have never worked with integration before so I'm not sure how to do this.

Physics news on Phys.org
I would consider using the Work energy theorem.

So the total work done is F*d. So that's 10x^2. Initial velocity is 0 at rest so change in KE = Work done: (1/2)mv^2 = 10x^2. Solve for v and it's sqrt(20)*x. At x = 10, I get v = 10sqrt(20). Is this right?

PhizKid said:
So the total work done is F*d.
The force is not constant. You'll have to integrate: W = ∫F(x)dx

So the total work done is (x^3)/3 ? So can I do:

(x^3)/3 = (1/2)mv^2
666.66 = v^2
v = 25.8 m/s ?

PhizKid said:
So the total work done is (x^3)/3 ? So can I do:

(x^3)/3 = (1/2)mv^2
666.66 = v^2
v = 25.8 m/s ?
Looks good to me.

FAQ: How to work with non-constant forces?

1. What is a non-constant force?

A non-constant force is a type of force that changes in magnitude and/or direction over time or distance. This can be caused by various factors such as friction, air resistance, or gravity, and it can affect the motion of an object.

2. How do you calculate the work done by a non-constant force?