Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

HST-1 moving faster than light?

1. Sep 8, 2011 #1
    I'm no expert in astrophysics so forgive me if this is a trivial question, but I read in (the abstract of) a recent paper in the Journal of Astrophysics and Astronomy that "... It appears that HST-1 moves with an apparent speed of 1.23c±0.91c ..."

Now I want to clarify what this means. I take it c is the speed of light? I have no problem with 1.23c-0.91c but when one says 1.23c+0.91c would it not mean the thing is traveling faster than light?

The abstract is here: http://www.ias.ac.in/jaa/marjun2011/abstracts/04.htm
    And the paper is here: http://www.ias.ac.in/jaa/marjun2011/04.pdf

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2011 #2

LJW

The 0.91c is a tolerance, meaning it could be moving as slowly as 0.32c or as quickly as 2.14c. You were right, c is the speed of light (in a vacuum).

Yes, it could mean that the particle could travel faster than the speed of light. While c is widely considered to be a universal speed limit, it's not an impossibility to travel above c. Tachyons come to mind (although being hypothetical) as particles which travel above c. Of course, no particle travelling above c may carry any form of information, which would not be in accordance with special relativity.

4. Sep 8, 2011 #3
    Great, thanks! That clears it.
    Now I'll go read up on tachyons.

5. Sep 8, 2011 #4

Ryan_m_b

Staff: Mentor

Hold on a second, this really sounds wrong. What data do you have to support the idea that something can travel faster than c?

If I were you I would wait for the attention of an expert.

6. Sep 8, 2011 #5

Ryan_m_b

Staff: Mentor

7. Sep 8, 2011 #6

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member