What is the Best Online HTML5 Guide for a Novice Programmer?

In summary, the best online HTML5 guide for a novice programmer is the Mozilla Developer Network (MDN). This guide offers comprehensive and up-to-date information on HTML5, along with interactive tutorials and examples. It also has a user-friendly interface and a strong community support system, making it an ideal resource for beginners to learn and master HTML5. Additionally, the MDN guide is constantly updated with new features and best practices, ensuring that novice programmers have access to the most current and relevant information.
stonecoldgen
Hello PF.

I am looking for a recommendation of some HTML5 guide I can get online. I have no knowledge on PHP, HTML, etc. but I do have lots of programming knowledge in Java and some in .NET.

So what guide do you guys recommend? Thanks.

Technology news on Phys.org
It would be well worth your time and money to buy this small book: http://www.abookapart.com/products/html5-for-web-designers

It is not free (and is not sold on Amazon, only on the site above). It is short but is by far the best book of many I tried reading about HTML5.

http://http://www.webplatform.org/ has some good information on HTML5.

Last edited by a moderator:
Yes, w3schools is not any kind of "official" site, though it sort of appears to be.

1. What is HTML5?

HTML5 (HyperText Markup Language version 5) is the latest version of the HTML language used to create and structure content on the internet. It includes new features and elements that allow for more dynamic and interactive web pages.

2. What are the key features of HTML5?

HTML5 includes new elements such as <header>, <nav>, and <footer> for better page structure, as well as multimedia support for audio and video playback without the need for plugins. It also has features for creating more dynamic and responsive websites, such as the <canvas> element for drawing graphics and the <video> element for streaming video.