1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I am leaving high school early and starting to look at colleges

1. Apr 20, 2008 #1
    I have been very bored at my high school. I took the hardest math and physics classes at my high school my freshman year (Calc BC and Physics C:E&M/Mechanics) and I am now a sophomore taking classes at the community college. However, I have pretty much exhausted the courses there. Given my situation, the school will be flexible with graduation requirements, and I will probably graduate early.

I want to study physics in college, but my dad wants to make sure I get a liberal arts education as well. I am qualified for many "top schools" (i.e. Caltech, University of Chicago, MIT) but I not one of those kids who needs to go to a "top school."

Do you know of any liberal arts schools with good physics programs? Will I pretty much get the same physics undergrad education anywhere? Does anybody know if Carleton has a good physics dept?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 20, 2008 #2
    Big schools tend to require liberal arts education in order to graduate anyway. I go to UW in Seattle and I have to take a bunch of art-type classes and things like social studies, etc.

4. Apr 20, 2008 #3
    Carleton in Ottawa?

5. Apr 21, 2008 #4
    If I were you I would look at Reed College in Portland Oregon, it is a small liberal arts school but they have a good physics program (the well known textbook writer David Griffiths teaches there). They also have mandatory humanities requirements of all undergraduates so that should make your dad happy. It's a really selective school though so if that's not what you're looking for this might not be the best.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reed_College