I'm going to be majoring in physics in the spring.

In summary, the speaker has no prior experience with physics but is interested in pursuing it and believes they have the ability to learn an applied science. They are seeking recommendations for primer books to prepare for university in the spring. The other person suggests focusing on reviewing high school mathematics and recommends reading a calculus book, specifically one by Stewart that covers vectors.
corydhorton
I have had no previous experience with physics, but I know it's what I want to do and I believe that I am capable of learning an applied science. I also have never taken a calculus course in high school. I came here for some recommendations on primer books that I could read to be better prepared for university in the spring. Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
No, I would say go over the mathematics you learned at school. You'll re-learn all the physics at university, so don't bother with going over your physics. If you really want to get a start, try read a calculus book, you can get it from the library or what not. Something like Stewart would be good. Especially the bits on vectors.

Congratulations on your decision to major in physics! It is an exciting and challenging field that offers endless opportunities for discovery and innovation.

I can assure you that having no previous experience in physics or calculus should not discourage you from pursuing this path. In fact, many successful physicists and scientists come from diverse backgrounds and have had different levels of exposure to the subject before starting their university studies.

To prepare for your physics major, I would recommend starting with some basic concepts and principles of physics. "Concepts of Physics" by H.C. Verma and "University Physics" by Young and Freedman are two excellent introductory books that cover the fundamentals of physics in a clear and engaging manner.