1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Importance of CC grades for grad school/internships

1. Jan 31, 2007 #1
    I'm currently in my last semester in a community college. I'm aware that my grades this last semester won't affect my transfer admissions. But what I want to know is
    Will my community college grades will affect my chances at getting an internship in the future?
    Will they carry on to the GPA at my school or will my university GPA only be affected by my grades after I transfer?
    Will they affect my Grad school admissions?
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 31, 2007 #2

Staff: Mentor

You should ask the university that you are transferring to, about their policy on transfer grades and GPAs.

Where I teach, grades in courses taken at other institutions are not included in "our" GPA, even though we do credit those courses towards our graduation and major requirements, subject to various rules.

People who are evaluating you for internships, grad school or whatever may of course choose to include your CC grades in their evaluation process.
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2007
  4. Jan 31, 2007 #3
    proton if you know your stuff it shouldn't affect your chances of getting an internship. If perhaps the CC courses taught you nothing than your chances of getting an internship compared to a person a university are in the other persons favor.
  5. Feb 1, 2007 #4