Interpreting Schrodinger's Cat: The Role of Observers in Quantum Mechanics

In summary, the Schrodinger's cat experiment demonstrates that the reality of an object or system can be in two states simultaneously, depending on the observer.
Nick-C
Hi guys.
Am a complete newbie to quantum mechanics but would love to find out a bit more about it!
I have a few questions about the Schrodinger's cat experiment, which are probably very basic but I would greatly appreciate it if someone could just explain them to me!
Basically, my understanding of the experiment is this:
While the box is closed, nobody know whether it is alive or dead. Therefore, it is existing in a state of both. This chnges when it is observed by an observer, when it is forced to 'choose' a state.
Firstly, is my interpretation of this experiment correct?
Secondly, what/ who is this observer? does it have to be a human who can actually consciously decide whether the cat is alive or dead?
Or could it be an animal, eg a monkey has been trained to open the box and observe the cat. It would be able to tell whether it was alive or dead, therefore does this force the cat to become one state or the other?
so basically is it anything with eyes?
further than that, what if there was a machine which could open the box and tell whether the cat was still alive or not. does this force the cat to be either alive or dead, even though no consciousness is present?

This is probably a basic problem but I haven't been able to find anything about it so thought I'd ask here! thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
Nick-C said:
Hi guys.
Am a complete newbie to quantum mechanics but would love to find out a bit more about it!
I have a few questions about the Schrodinger's cat experiment, which are probably very basic but I would greatly appreciate it if someone could just explain them to me!
Basically, my understanding of the experiment is this: