Is Going to an Intl EE Masters Program Before a US EE PhD a Disadvantage?

In summary, the person is a 2008 graduate from a top US school with a BS in EE and a GPA of 3.5. They have no formal research experience but have been involved in entrepreneurial non-EE related activities since then. They have decided to pursue an MS and potentially a PhD in the US, but have missed the deadline for 2012 admissions. They are considering applying to UK/International MS programs and then applying for a US PhD after, or doing research/internships and applying for a US MS in 2013. They prefer not to wait too long to start their studies and are interested in studying internationally for cultural reasons. They are wondering if attending a UK/International school for their MS will put them
Cheesedawg
Intl EE Masters --> US EE PhD

I graduated in '08 from a top 10-15 US school with a BS EE and a GPA of about 3.5 with no formal research experience.

I've done entrepreneurial non-EE related things since then.

I'm now realizing that I want to get at least an MS and likely a PhD, depending on how the MS goes. I'm too late to apply to North American schools for the 2012 starting date.

Please help me evaluate these options given that my goal is to get into a top US PhD program:

1) Apply to a few UK/Intl MS programs and go to best one possible starting in 2012

2) Do some kind of research and/or internship this year and then apply for a US MS starting in 2013

All else equal, I'd rather not wait over 18 months just to start as I'm already 26 and behind schedule. I'd also enjoy studying internationally for cultural reasons.

So will it be a big disadvantage to go to a UK/Intl school and apply for a US PhD after that?

Any thoughts on good match schools to apply to? Imperial seems very good but very selective. Was also looking at King's College, Manchester, and Edinburgh.

Physics news on Phys.org

I have not even started college yet *but* I wouldn't even apply to a UK program unless: